The parish’s new government begins work

A new Council chairs, department heads and committee chairs were all named and approved as the new St. Charles Parish government began work today ( Jan. 13).

Councilman Dick Gibbs was elected chairman of the Parish Council along with vice chairwoman – Councilwoman Marilyn Bellock – at Monday’s council organizational meeting.

Just sworn in a day earlier, Parish President Matt Jewell got council approval for his department head recommendations:

Miles Bingham as director of Public Works and Wastewater. Clayton “Snookie” Faucheux held the position during Parish President Larry Cochran’s administration.

Corey Oubre was named director of legal services. Oubre ran unsuccessfully for district judge, Division C, in October in St. Charles Parish.

Grant Dussom, chief financial officer.

Joe Ganote, director of Emergency Preparedness.

Robert Brou, director of Waterworks.

Michael Albert, director of Planning and Zoning.

Duane Foret, director of Parks and Recreation.

Joan Diaz, director of Community Services.

Corey Faucheux, director of Economic Development and Tourism.

The council also named its committee chairs:

Councilman Bob Fisher will chair the Council’s Operations, Maintenance and Construction Management Committee.

Councilwoman Wendy Benedetto will chair the Legislative Committee.

Gibbs will chair the Contract/Finance and Administrative Committee.

Bellock will chair the Special Projects/Public Safety, Health and Environmental Committee.

Councilwoman Julia Fisher-Perrier will chair the Hurricane Protection Projects Committee.


About Anna Thibodeaux 2071 Articles
Managing Editor

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.