Candidates face opposition in Oct. 12 primary

Qualifying for the Oct. 12 primary election ended yesterday (Aug. 8) with opposition in nine races in St. Charles Parish.

In the parish president race, incumbent Larry Cochran of St. Rose will face three opponents: Reanda Fields-Pierre and Jay Roberts, both of Luling, and Matt Jewell of Hahnville.

Also, in the council races, the at-large Division B seat has three opponents: Incumbent Paul Hogan of Des Allemands, incumbent Terrell Wilson (terming out for District 1 seat) and Holly Fonseca of Luling.

In District 1, three opponents are running: LaSandra Darenbourg Gordon and Aleshia Smith, both of Hahnville, and Brandon Isaac of Killona.

District 4 has two opponents Nicky Dufrene and Jason Richard, both of Des Allemands.

The District 5 seat has incumbent Marilyn Bellock facing Anthony Slaughter Sr., both of St. Rose.

District 6 has three opponents: Bob Fisher of Montz, Jack Fletcher and Keith Schexnayder, both of Norco.

District 7 has incumbent Julia Fisher-Perrier facing Regmon Chaney, both of Luling.

Incumbent Sheriff Greg Champagne will face Melinda Bedi of Luling in the election.

Also, District Judge 29th Judicial District Court Division C has two opponents: Connie Aucoin and Corey Oubre both of Destrehan.

These races have no opposition:

  • Clerk of Court Lance Marino
  • Assessor Tab Troxler
  • Coroner Brian Brogle
  • At-large Division A Councilwoman Wendy Benedetto
  • District 2 Councilwoman Mary Clulee
  • District 3 Councilman Dick Gibbs
  • State Sen. Gary Smith Jr. of Montz
  • State Rep. Gregory Miller of Destrehan


About Anna Thibodeaux 2072 Articles
Managing Editor


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.