Tigers, Wildcats place 9 on All-District team

Stephanie Oubre is one of three Hahnville Tigers to earn All-District first team honors this season.

Destrehan and Hahnville combined for nine members of the All-District 6-I volleyball team this year, after finishing as runner-up and third place respectively this past season.

Hahnville’s Brianna Plaisance, Stephanie Oubre and Bailey Roux earned first team honors along with Destrehan’s Gia Zeringue. DHS’ Korinne Kimble, Allison Carmichael and Isabelle Chaisson each took second team honors, as did Hahnville’s Chelsea Plaisance and Alyssa Chategnier.

Destrehan had a breakout season in 2017, earning second place in District 6-I and going 17-14 overall. The Wildcats swept archrival Hahnville, breaking a Tigers win streak in the rivalry that spanned six seasons. Its playoff berth was the program’s first since 2013.

“That’s the kind of thing that puts you over the top, when they see you can be competitive with Hahnville,” Destrehan coach Edward Borgstede said. “For people to see we can get a winning record again, finish high in district and get that automatic playoff bid … the future looks extremely good for us. We know we’re on the right track and that the culture’s changing.”

The Tigers followed up their district championship season in 2016 by going 24-16 this year and reaching the second round of the District I playoffs for the second consecutive season, going on the road to sweep Ruston in three games in round one.

“We’re really excited about the season we had,” Hahnville coach Mendi LeBoeuf said. “It was a different kind of playoff season for us. Last year, we had a lot of seniors on the court. This year, we had a lot of sophomores on the court. So for us to go out and get a first round win, on the road after a pretty long bus ride, we’re super excited about our kids being focused and playing well in that environment.”

Both teams will bring back the majority of their starters next season.

H.L. Bourgeois’ Da’Zhane Gasery and Victoria Battaglia were named the district’s Offensive and Defensive MVPs, respectively, after leading the Braves to the District 6-I championship.

Other first team members included Thibodaux’s Abbey Arceneaux; Bourgeois’ Christina McElroy and Kelsie Stegal and Central Lafourche’s DeAnne Schouest.

Other second team selections are Thibodaux’s Jamaya Holmes; Bourgeois’ Tess Ganguy and Abby Theriot; and Central Lafourche’s Brianna Hernandez and McKenzie Champagne.

Local players earning honorable mention included Destrehan’s Claire Dantin, Mallory Laumann and Nijai Smith and Hahnville’s Reagan Young.


About Ryan Arena 2979 Articles
Sports Editor

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply