Local teacher named to state education group leadership

Current and former Louisiana State Teachers of the Year voted in January to reinstate an affiliate organization of the National State Teachers of the Year (NSTOY) organization called LASTOY.

At the fifth annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium on July 22, the first full meeting of the LASTOY members took place. At the meeting, officers were installed and plans were developed to begin addressing each of the following purposes: to encourage quality education for each individual through quality teaching; to recognize the excellence and commitment of professional educators; to promote the image of education through public awareness; to stimulate the personal and professional growth of our members and to encourage their participation in activities which will actively inspire teachers by presenting workshops and seminars; and to be actively involved in the recruitment of young people into the educational profession.

LASTOY announced the following officers: Jean Woodside, President, of St. Francisville; Whitney Whealdon, Vice President, ELA Program Coordinator and Senior Project Coordinator; Stacy Neighbors, Secretary, of J.B. Martin Middle School in St Charles Parish; Laurie Carlton, Treasurer, of Plaquemines Parish; and Mitzi Quinn, Historian.

Three former Louisiana Teachers of the Year: Jean Woodside, Stacy Harkreader Neighbors and Laurie Carltonhosted a breakout session called the “Educator Collaboration Session”. The session gathered quality educators together to share best practices and lesson plans.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.