Uncontested parish races abound, 8 positions automatically filled

St. Charles Parish had numerous uncontested political races this year, with around eight different parish level candidates finding themselves automatically elected to the positions they registered for after the early August registration deadline.

Four of the uncontested races this year involved St. Charles Parish Council seats, including the Parish Council District I seat LaSandra Gordon was recently re-elected to.

“Tuesday, I qualified to run for a second term as St. Charles Parish District I Councilwoman,” Gordon wrote in an August 10 social media post. “Grateful and humbled I was re-reelected without opposition…I will still make great decisions as we continue moving the parish.”

Parish Council newcomer Heather Skiba also ran unopposed and will soon take her place beside Gordon as she picks up the Parish Council District II seat this year, posting an official Facebook response August 11 after learning she would soon formally represent her district.

“When the qualifying period ended yesterday, I was honored to learn that I have been elected without opposition to the St. Charles Parish Council,” Skiba said. “With that honor comes a huge responsibility that I do not take lightly; I look forward to representing District II!”

Parish Council District VI was yet another local race that went unopposed, allowing Bob Fisher to retain his seat for another term.

“I was truly humbled this evening after learning that I was re-elected, without opposition, for a second term as your Councilman for District VI,” Fisher wrote on a social media post August 10. “I am honored to continue this journey as your councilman.”

The Parish Council at Large Division B seat will once again belong to Holly Fonseca for a second term. Fonseca’s Councilmember at Large Division B seat, like the seats for St. Charles Parish Council Districts One, Two and Six, was unopposed this year.

“Thank you for all your support of my candidacy to represent SCP residents parish wide for a second term as your Councilwoman-At-Large, Div. B,” Fonseca said on August 10. “I was humbled to learn this afternoon that I was re-elected without opposition…I pledge to continue serving you with integrity whilst endeavoring to always make decisions in the best interest of all SCP residents as we work together to continue to move our parish forward.”

The St. Charles Parish District Court Judge, Division D seat, made vacant by retiring Judge M. Laura Lemmon, will soon make way for its only qualifying candidate to take her place as St. Charles Parish’s newest judge, Rochelle Fahrig Champagne. Seasoned attorney Champagne Fahrig will accept her new role as judge after serving nine years as the Assistant District Attorney in St. Charles Parish.

“Following the end of the qualifying period yesterday, I was humbled to learn that I have been elected without opposition as your next District Court Judge for St. Charles Parish, Div. D,” Champagne Fahrig said August 11. “I promise to serve in this new role with the utmost honor and integrity. The future of our community is so bright, and I look forward to being a part of that future.”

Other familiar local candidates who ran unopposed this year and will once again be re-elected were Dr. Brian Brogle, Coroner, Greg Champagne, Sheriff and Tab Troxler, Assessor.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply