DHS alumnus makes all-state hoops team

NEW ORLEANS — Guard Mark Stewart of Xavier University of Louisiana is a third-team selection on the 2006-07 All-Louisiana men’s basketball team. The Louisiana Sports Writers Association chose the team.

Stewart, a 6-foot-1 junior from Destrehan and a Destrehan High School graduate, is the first Xavier player to make the men’s team since Merlin Peters in 1990-91.

Stewart led the Gold Rush (22-10) with a 16.8 scoring average and set Xavier records for 3-pointers made in a season (109) and career (202).

He scored a game-high 19 points, including five 3-pointers, in Xavier’s 82-79 upset March 15 of NAIA No. 3 Georgetown (Ky.) — the Gold Rush’s first victory in the national tournament since 1973.

Xavier overcame an 0-4 start in the Gulf Coast Athletic Conference to earn a share of the regular-season championship with Tougaloo. Stewart and backcourt teammate Shaun Dumas were selected to the All-GCAC team.

University of New Orleans junior guard Bo McCalebb, who averaged 25 points per game and ranked sixth in NCAA Division I, is the Player of the Year.

2006-07 All-Louisiana Men’s Basketball Team selected by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association:

First Team: Bo McCalebb, New Orleans, 6-0 junior, New Orleans, Glen Davis, LSU, 6-9 junior, Baton Rouge, La., Stefan Blaszczynski, Nicholls State, 6-6 senior, Sydney, Australia, Tasmin Mitchell, LSU, 6-8 sophomore, Denham Springs, La., Trey McDowell, Louisiana Tech, 6-3 senior, Beaumont, Texas.

Second Team: Tony Hooper, Louisiana-Monroe, 5-11 sophomore, Houston, Texas, David Gomez, Tulane, 6-8 junior, Baton Rouge, La., Andre Ratliff, Grambling, 5-10 junior, Pontiac, Mich., Daryl Cohen, Southeastern Louisiana, 6-4 senior, Century, Fla., Alexander Starr, Centenary, 6-5 senior, Dallas, Texas.

Third Team: Jarvis Bradley, McNeese State, 6-5 junior, Dallas, Texas, Luke Rogers, Northwestern State, 6-1 senior, Chicago, Ill., Josh Johnson, Louisiana College, 6-5 sophomore, Ruston, La., Elijah Millsap, Louisiana-Lafayette, 6-5 freshman, Grambling, La., Mark Stewart, Xavier, 6-1 junior, Destrehan, La.

Player of the Year: Bo McCalebb, New Orleans

Newcomer of the Year: Jonas Brown, Louisiana-Monroe, 6-3 junior, Houston, Texas

Freshman of the Year: Elijah Millsap, Louisiana-Lafayette

Coach of the Year: Orlando Early, Louisiana-Monroe.

Questions? Comments? Email Sports Editor Heather R. Breaux at heatherb@heraldguide.com and don’t forget to include your sports news.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.