State legislature honors Herald-Guide’s Newspaper of the Year selection

The Louisiana legislature has honored the St. Charles Herald-Guide for the newspaper’s selection as Newspaper of the Year for Division 4.

The resolution was authored by Sen. Gary Smith and Rep. Greg Miller. The St. Charles Parish Council recognized the paper for its achievements earlier this month.

According to the Senate resolution,”community newspapers such as the St. Charles Herald-Guide are vital in providing in-depth local news coverage and a forum for residents to communicate with each other and remain connected to their community. Therefore be it resolved that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the St. Charles Herald-Guide for being named Newspaper of the Year.”

The Herald-Guide was named Newspaper of the Year by the Louisiana Press Association in April. Overall, the paper took home 14 awards including General Excellence, Best Sports Coverage and Best Front Page.

The Herald-Guide competed in the largest division in the state against both weekly and daily papers. The Newspaper of the Year award is the top honor given to the best newspaper in Division 4.

The Herald-Guide also finished in third place in the Best News Coverage category, while Editor Jonathan Menard captured first and second place in Best Sports Photo. He also received honorable mention in Best Headline and Best Sports Story.

Lifestyles Editor Kyle Barnett finished second in Best News Story for his article on the rise of heroin in St. Charles. Outdoor reporter Bruce McDonald received third place in the same category for his article about fishermen who were struck by lightning in Lake Cataouatche.

The Herald-Guide won four awards for its advertising in 2012. Graphic designer Alissa Zeringue won first and second place for Best In-Paper Promotion. Zeringue also finished in third place for Best Staff Generated – Black & White Ad and received honorable mention for Best Staff Generated Color Ad.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.