St. Charles Parish Schools celebrates its Students of the Year

Three St. Charles Parish Public School students were named as district Students of the Year last Thursday, advancing them to regional competition.Lakewood Elementary School’s Conner Rome; Albert Cammon Middle School’s Eric Jones, and Hahnville High School’s Camryn Mikesell were named winners from among 12 nominees.

Superintendent Felecia Gomez-Walker announced them at the Students of the Year Premier held at AMC Elmwood Palace 20 in Harahan to acknowledge their star quality.

“Holding this celebration in this theatre reminds me of another prestigious ceremony – the Academy Awards, where Oscars are given to those who excel in their field of movie production and acting,” Gomez-Walker said. “Likewise, tonight we celebrate students who have been selected as some of the best and brightest in the St. Charles Parish Public School System.”

School system winners also were recognized:

• Elementary schools: Landon Champagne of Luling Elementary School; Payton Gill of Norco Elementary School; Trenton Mitchell of Ethel Schoeffner Elementary School; Macy Oertling of R.J. Vial Elementary School, and Mia Walton of St. Rose Elementary School

• Middle schools: Connor Barney of Harry Hurst Middle School; Kevell Byrd of R.K. Smith Middle School and Abby Matherne of J.B. Martin Middle School

• High schools: Matthew Lewis of Destrehan High School

School Board President Dennis Naquin praised the students for demonstrating academic excellence, citizenship and leadership.

“Not only would I like to congratulate you, but I would also like to thank you,” Naquin said. “Thank you for taking advantage of the many opportunities afforded to you in St. Charles Parish Public Schools.  Thank you for being role models for your fellow classmates.  Thank you for inspiring your teachers and administrators to continually push themselves to strive for the best.  You are the best of the best and epitomize hard work in the classroom and community. All of you are model students. Your parents should be proud.”

Assistant Superintendent A.J. Pethe said to be selected as a student of the year, a student must earn a cumulative 3.5 grade point average and be in grade 5, 8 or 12.  All students of the year must compile a portfolio, write a biographical sketch and be interviewed by a Student Achievement Committee.  This committee has the responsibility of selecting the parish level winners.

Individuals who served on this year’s committee are Teachers of the Year Melanie Blackmon Seal of Hahnville High School, Latanya Williams Jenkins of Allemands Elementary School and Stacy Yarbrough of R.K. Smith Middle School; community representatives: Shalinda Austin of W.R. Grace, Brandi Leblanc of N Durance Fitness and Roland Prestenback III of LeBlanc Wealth Management, and school representative Jerry Smith, administrator of Student Services.

About Anna Thibodeaux 1880 Articles
Managing Editor

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.