Parish president declares state of emergency as precaution

St. Charles Parish President Larry Cochran has declared a state of emergency in response to the heavy rainfall as a precautionary measure with further rainfall anticipated this week.

Parish officials announced sandbag locations, as well as road closures and high water locations as water rises with ongoing heavy rain as of 3 p.m. today (Aug. 11).

The parish Department of Wastewater has issued a sewer notice for St. Charles Parish. Residents are asked to minimize their sewer use until further notice.

All Council on Aging centers and the Home Delivered Meal Site will be closed today (Aug. 12). The bus will roll for dialysis only.

Sandbag sites have been expanded to locations throughout the parish (residents must bring their own shovel) at the following locations:


  • East Bank Bridge Park
  • West Bank Bridge Park

District I

  • Hackberry Street southwest of the pump station between Gassen Street and Luling Estates Drive
  • Bamboo Street and Plantation Road
  • Pioneer Drive and Settlers Drive
  • King Street behind the school
  • End of River Park Drive
  • School House Road near railroad tracks
  • Boutte Estates at the curve

District II

  • Willowdale Boulevard and East Heather next to the levee
  • Rex Street between Davis Drive and Evelyn Drive east of Pump Station Road
  • Sugarhouse Road and Angus Drive
  • Bernard Avenue near the pump station
  • Ama Grain Field
  • Lakewood Elementary School

District III

  • Red Church Subdivision
  • Ormond Fire House on Ormond Boulevard

District IV

  • Paradis Pump Station at canal boat launch
  • Up the Bayou Road near the pump station
  • Twin Bridge Road and Down the Bayou Road
  • LA 631 (Old Spanish Trail) behind the church
  • LA 306 at Badeaux Lane East
  • Grand Bayou Road and Sunshine Drive

District V

  • Fourth Street
  • Bar None Subdivision
  • Charles Towne Subdivision
  • Fairfield Subdivision
  • I-310 Service Road
  • Oakland Subdivision
  • Preston Hollow and River Road
  • River View
  • Dianne Place

District VI

  • Montz Recreation Park
  • New Sarpy Recreation Park
  • Norco Elementary School and Apple Street
  • Norco Fire Station

District VII

  • George Cousins Road and West Heather Street
  • Valencia Drive and Primrose Drive
  • Primrose Drive West of the Lagatutta pump station between Wade Street and Oak Street
  • Lakewood Elementary School


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply