J. B. Martin Robotics Team competes in first competition

J. B. Martin Robotics Team competed in their first competition of just their second year in existence. At the Destrehan High School Regional Qualifier last school year, the team received recognition for being the “Best Upcoming Team” and ranked high enough to be granted a bid to the state competition. They then ranked in the top 25 at state competition.

This season, the league challenge was “Animal Allies,” where students had to identity different ways people interact with animals both on purpose and accident. They then had to pick a situation and come up with a plan to resolve a problem they foresaw. Using this model for the project, the students came up with an idea of creating flotation devices for livestock. They created a sales pitch on why this device was needed and how it could save animal lives.

Using a Lego robot the students designed, built, and programmed a device that had to accomplish missions set by the organization to earn points for competition. The device had to move, deposit and interact with mission parts and items on a game board at a precise level that was all geared around interaction with animals.

Continuing their trend upward the team again qualified for state competition. In addition, the team received an award for Best Designed Robot, and placed second in the Robot Game Competition. When the finals scores were released with all the factors calculated, the team was the Champion of the Regional Qualifier.

Coach Bryan Perissutti said, “Our competitors did amazing work and showcased the best J. B. has to offer. They were poised, assertive, gracious and professional. We had a really great time and we learned so much from our experience.”

Team members are: Darren Alexander, Joshua Anderson, Artiom Austin, Preston Bourgeois, Brody Cancienne, Taylor Champagne, Marley Cortez, Madalyn Dey, Reid Dufrene, Zachary Elliott, Lauren Errington, Timothy Gann, Luke Gauthreaux, Jakara Howard, Logan Jones, Traveon Joubert, Aaron Mire, Hayden Petit, Zachary Waits, and Christopher Williams. Coaches are: Bryan Perissutti, Ed Skiba, and Brandon Robinson.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.