St. Charles Herald Guide


Close Window

Very Important Parishioners - Schools
Staff Report -   May 17, 2007

The National Society of High School Scholars announces that Lex D. Vieregge from Des Allemands of the Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts High School has been selected for membership in the society. He is the son of Kristin Matherne and the grandson and Ernest and Mary Ann Matherne of Des Allemands.

Adam Zeringue an 8th grade student at Sacred Heart School was selected to participate in the People to People Student Ambassador Program and will visit France, Monaco, Italy and Malta this summer along with other students who were also selected from the New Orleans area. To help sponsor Zeringue, please contact Sacred Heart School.

St. Rose Elementary recently held its D.A.R.E. graduation. D.A.R.E. officers are Sergeant Burley McCarter and Sheriff Greg Champagne. Winners were Ashley Evans, Marshe Ursin, J'Rae Nunnery, Lantrelle Nelson and Sadie Hackett.

St. Charles Borromeo School is proud to announce that it has five students who qualified to go the Academic Games Leagues of America's National Tournament in Wheeling, West Virginia. Brett Dipuma, Andrew Poulos, Jason Quigley, Grant Candies and Christopher Stephens. In academic games the students compete against other teams to try to outthink each other in the areas of language arts, social studies and mathematics. Their coach was Cindy Parche.

Congratulations to Erin Wheeler of Luling on her graduation from Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tenn. Wheeler is a 1999 graduate of Hahnville High School and a 2003 graduate of Louisiana State University where she received a bachelor of science degree in kinesiology and human movement. Wheeler graduates in the top 15 percent of her class with honors at Meharry and is certified in the following areas: basic trauma life support, advanced cardiac life support, pediatric advanced life support. Wheeler also holds membership in the following associations: American Medical Student Association, Student National Association and the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.

New Sarpy Elementary Young Author’s Contest winners: Kindergarten: Cy Jones, Austin Moran, Merissa Roppolo, Logan Puissegur, Kourtney Griffith, Ty Gross, Dylan Weber, Bradley Hewett, Camryn Frangella. First Grade: Hunter Smith, Scarlett Wallace, Bailey Favolara, Brice Favolara, Matthew Senia, Christian Williams. Second Grade: Jenae’ Naquin, Breanne Barrios, Daphne Campo, Christopher Nelson, Victoria Ostrowski, Asia Cannon, Jacob Ralser. Third Grade: Sara Borne, Rachel Marino, Asia Victor, Jack Hausler, Jewel Pomeroy, Michael Caesar, Baylee Schexnaydre, Olivia Russell, Abbigail Marrs, Zachary Billiot.

New Sarpy students who participated in the May prinicpal breakfast: Jaden Johnson, Kyranisha Ranton, Amber Sellers, Zachary Wild, Christopher Valenzuela, Gabriel Bordelon, Joshua Ramirez, Christian Reed, Katherine Garcia, Matthew Nichols, Theron Melancon, Ty'kee, Nelson, Carient Jackson, Logan Rainer, Andrew McQuillion, Nicholas McMillion, Alyssa Acker, Lance Lemon, Peter Carmichael, Camryn Deering, Corey Murry, Hannah Spahr, Morgan Williams, Katie Lallier, Elyssia Florent, Treyann Taplet, David Lea, Chase Guilmino, Valarie Laux, Christian Blue, Jemoine Green, Justin Bonomo, Gregory Danielson, Gavin Parks, Justin Tizzard, Benjamin Simmons, Brandon Cribbs, Courtney Crane, Carleigh Cepriano, Taylor Williams and Kayla Kimble, Devontie Williams, Daniel Chapman, Leland Kelly, Aareion ThomasDe'Ja Smith and Nicoh Angle.

Send your VIPs to Heather R. Breaux at

Read More Stories at!