Don’t get ticketed in seat belt crackdown
Shonna Riggs - Apr 26, 2007
St. Charles Parish and state police will crack down on unbuckled drivers and passengers from May 3 through June 21 and issue tickets to anyone not wearing a seat belt.
And that means you, bucko.
Louisiana's annual seat-belt safety campaign, called “Click It or Ticket," is heavily advertised statewide.
And, from a lawman’s point of view, the promotion serves as “fair warning” that patrolmen are going to strictly enforce the state’s seat belt law for the next two months.
“One in four Louisiana drivers doesn't wear a seat belt,” retired lawman Col. James Champagne, executive director of the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission, told the Herald-Guide exclusively.
“The St. Charles Parish Sheriff’s Office is one of the agencies in the state taking part in the campaign to support us in correcting this problem.”
Champagne said Louisiana ranks dead last in the nation when it comes to motorists wearing their seat belts.
"Seat belt safety wasn’t a priority for anyone. And the numbers are still edging down.”
Citations for not wearing seat belts cost drivers $25.
“I've actually seen drivers get a ticket and then drive off without putting their seat belt on: $25 just doesn’t mean that much to them.”
But Champagne warned that drivers will be ticketed “multiple times” if they are caught violating the law more than once - even during the same stop.
In other words, if you get a ticket for driving without you seat belt, don’t drive away in a huff without buckling up.
Louisiana is one of 25 states in the nation with a primary seat belt law. That means police can stop you solely for not wearing a seat belt.
Questions? Comments? Write to Shonna Riggs at firstname.lastname@example.org
|heraldguide.com is a supplement to St. Charles Herald Guide.
Copyright © 2001 - 2017 St. Charles Herald Guide, Inc. All rights reserved.
Please contact our WebMaster if you experience problems with the website.