Clerk of court, state rep will be decided in November

Michelle Stuckey
October 28, 2011 at 9:31 am  | Mobile Reader | Pring this storyPrint 

Almost all of the incumbents will keep their seats after last weekend’s election, but a run-off race will be held to decide the clerk of court and state representative for the 56th District in November.

Incumbent Charlie Oubre Jr. will face off against Norco resident Lance Marino in a Nov. 19 run-off election for the Clerk of Court office. Marino received 6,092 votes while Oubre received 6,036 votes.

Another run-off election will be held for the state representative 56th District seat between locals Gregory Miller and G. “Ram” Ramachandran. Miller received 49 percent of the votes while Ramachandran received about 40 percent.

The general election in November will also decide the parish representative on the BESE Board between Louella Givens, who got 29 percent of the district vote, and Kira Jones, who got 31 percent of the vote. A small portion of the parish will also help decide the next state senator for the 2nd Senatorial District between Elton Aubert and Troy Brown, and the state representative for the 57th District. That choice will be made between Randal Gaines and Russ Wise.

With incumbent Assessor Clyde “Rock” Gisclair not seeking re-election, former director of Emergency Preparedness Tab Troxler will claim the seat next year. Troxler beat out current Councilman Terry Authement for the position with 59 percent of the votes.

Parish President V.J. St. Pierre won re-election against Billy Raymond Sr. with about 62 percent of the votes.

Also re-elected were Councilwoman at Large for Division A Carolyn Schexnaydre, District 2 Councilman Shelley Tastet, District 3 Councilwoman Wendy Benedetto, District 4 Councilman Paul Hogan, District 5 Councilman Larry Cochran and District 7 Councilman Dennis Nuss.

Newcomers to the Council will be Clayton “Snookie” Faucheux for At Large Division B, Terrell Wilson for District 1 and Traci Ackerman-Fletcher for District 6. Faucheux beat opponent Kenny “Gatorman” Schmill with 62 percent of the votes. Wilson ran unopposed and Ackerman-Fletcher won with 63 percent of the votes against opponent Eric C. Stumpf.

Sheriff Greg Champagne will also retain his seat after facing no opposition.

Judge Robert Chaisson will move on to the 5th Circuit Court of Appeal for District 3 next year. Chaisson defeated St. John the Baptist Parish District Court Judge Madeline Jasmine with 73 percent of the votes.

Incumbent coroner Brian N. Brogle was re-elected to that seat without opposition.

Gary Smith Jr. and Garrett Monti ran for the state Senate’s 19th District seat. Smith received 57 percent of votes to win election.


How St. Charles Voted

Parish President
Billy N. Raymond, Sr. (D) 38.08%  5,953
“V.J.” St. Pierre, Jr. (D) 61.92%  9,680

Clerk of Court
Lance Marino (R) 39.44%  6,092
“Charlie” Oubre, Jr. (D) 39.08%  6,036
“Fen” Swann III (D) 21.48%  3,317

Terry Authement (D) 41.48%  6,422
Tab Troxler (R) 58.52%  9,062

Councilman at Large Division A
Jeanne B. Hall (D) 41.39%  6,015
Carolyn K. Schexnaydre (D) 58.61%  8,519

Councilman at Large Division B
“Snookie” Faucheux (R) 62.46%  9,191
Kenny  Schmill (N) 37.54%  5,523

Councilman District 2
Carl Cantrelle, Jr. (N) 37.66% 966  966
Shelley Tastet (D) 62.34% 1599  1,599


Councilman District 3
Wendy Edler Benedetto (R) 66.47%  1,598
Benny Jones (N) 33.53%  806

Councilman District 4
Stanley J. Hebert (N) 31.57%  609
Paul J. Hogan (R) 52.83%  1,019
Jason Richard (R) 15.60%  301

Councilman District 6
Traci Ackerman-Fletcher (N) 63.26%  1,355
Eric C. Stumpf (R) 36.74%   787

Councilman  District 7
Bryan Bedi (R) 37.78%   838
Dennis Nuss (R) 62.22%  1,380

State Senator 19th Senatorial District
Garrett C. Monti (R) 42.61%  6,406
Gary L. Smith, Jr. (D) 57.39%  8,629

State Representative
56th Representative District
Emile Garlepied (R) 11.21%  1,375
Gregory A. Miller (R) 49.05%  6,017
“Ram” Ramachandran (D) 39.75%  4,876

David Blanchard (N) 1.72%  266
“Lenny” Bollingham (N) 0.33%  51
“Ron” Ceasar (N) 0.87%  135
Cary J. Deaton (D) 3.74%  577
Tara Hollis (D) 11.59% 1789  1,789
“Bobby” Jindal (R) 73.29%  11,313
“Bob” Lang, Jr. (N) 0.43% 66
Scott Lewis (L) 1.22% 189  189
“Niki Bird” Papazoglakis (D) 3.03%  467
Ivo “Trey” Roberts (D) 3.77%  582

Lieutenant Governor
“Jay” Dardenne (R) 41.10%  6,011
“Billy” Nungesser (R) 58.90%  8,615

Secretary of State
“Tom” Schedler (R) 49.27%  6,641
“Jim” Tucker (R) 50.73%  6,839

Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry
Belinda “B” Alexandrenko (R) 5.48%  800
Jamie LaBranche (D) 28.43%  4,153
“Mike” Strain (R) 66.10%  9,656

Commissioner of Insurance
“Jim” Donelon (R) 69.87%  10,391
Donald C. Hodge (D) 30.13%  4,481
Judge, Court of Appeal
5th Circuit,
3rd District, Division A
Robert A. Chaisson (D) 77.28%  11,617
Madeline Jasmine (D) 22.72%  3,416

BESE -- District 2
Louella P. Givens (D) 20.48%  2,808
Pamela “Pam” Matus (N) 35.22%  4,830
Kira Orange Jones (D) 29.94%  4,106
Ferdinand Wallace, Jr. (D) 14.36%  1,969

State Senator
2nd Senatorial District
Elton M. Aubert (D) 42.12%  123
Michael “Mike” Bell (D) 10.27%  30
Troy E. Brown (D) 43.15%  126
Alfred “Al” Carter (R) 3.08%   9 
George L. Grace, Jr. (D) 0.68%  2
Zaine “The Queen” Kasem (R) 0.68%   2

State Representative
57th Representative District
Shane M. Bailey (D) 25.23%  611
Olangee “OJ” Breech (D) 6.85%  166
Albert “Ali” Burl III (D) 7.72%  187
Randal L. Gaines (D) 41.74%  1,011
“Russ” Wise (N) 18.46%  447

View other articles written Michelle Stuckey

featured merchant

BENT'S RV Bent's RV is a Full Service RV Dealership in Louisiana.

Humane Society Pet of the Week: Michonne
Humane Society Pet of the Week: Michonne
This week’s St. Charles Humane Society’s showcase pet is Michonne.

Become A Herald-Guide Insider

Get breaking news, sports and lifestyles straight to your inbox