VIPs - St. Charles Womens Club

St. Charles Women’s Club holds installation reception, honors locals and raises money for local organizations

Staff Report
June 17, 2009 at 2:21 pm  | Mobile Reader | Pring this storyPrint 

2009-10 St. Charles Women’s Club officers. Pictured (l to r) Patty Picard, Diane Rochelle, Angela McGowan and Teresa Miller.
2009-10 St. Charles Women’s Club officers. Pictured (l to r) Patty Picard, Diane Rochelle, Angela McGowan and Teresa Miller.
The St. Charles Women’s Club recently held its annual disbursements and installation reception at the St. Charles Parish Schools Satellite Center in Luling. The non-profit civic and social organization in existence since 1966 raises money each year to distribute back into the community of St. Charles Parish. Holding to its motto, “Making a Difference,” the club was able to give over $20,000 this year.

The charitable organizations who received funds were: St. Charles Social Concerns prescription fund, St. Vincent DePaul Society, A. A. Songy Kindergarten Center Library & Humpty Dumpty program (the club’s partner in education), Catholic Charities (SCP) - Girl Power Camp, St. Charles Museum/Historical Society, Community Chorus of River Parishes, St. Charles Community Band, German Coast Farmer’s Market, The ARC of St. Charles, St. Charles Beautification Task Force, Head Start Program (St. Charles Parish), Hurry Hurst Middle School – Vietnam War Memorial project, St. Charles Parish Explorers No. 15, United Way of St. Charles – Success by 6, Pink Ladies Volunteers – Ormond Nursing Home, Center for Family & Youth Services (Luling), R.K. Smith Middle School - Mentoring Programs, Family Literacy Center at Luling Elementary and J. B. Martin Middle School – Anti-bullying and Self Esteem Program.St. Charles Women’s Club also awards scholarships each year to high school graduates of St. Charles Parish residents. This year’s recipients were, Taylor Scyster of Destrehan High School for $4,000, Paul Hymel of Hahnville High School for $1,000 and a $500 scholarship to Laney Pitts of Destrehan High School.

Installation of the 2009-2010 St. Charles Women’s club officers was held during the reception. Serving as President will be Diane Rochelle. Angela McGowan will serve as 1st vice-president and Catherine Dunlap as 2nd vice-president. Treasurer is Patty Picard. Choyer Parker is recording secretary and Teresa Miller the corresponding secretary.

View other articles written Staff Report

featured merchant

BENT'S RV Bent's RV is a Full Service RV Dealership in Louisiana.

Ama writer’s first children’s book published
Ama writer’s first children’s book published
“Andre’s Great Day” is Trina Triche’s newly published book about a teenage boy’s play day but with the fun problem of how to spend $100 his dad gave him.

Become A Herald-Guide Insider

Get breaking news, sports and lifestyles straight to your inbox