These teachers aren’t just good, they’re ... DYNAMITE

Special to the Herald-Guide

May 09, 2007 at 12:47 pm  | Mobile Reader | Pring this storyPrint 

Big 3 winners Michelle Ruppert, Joey Brady, Kelley Toups.
Big 3 winners Michelle Ruppert, Joey Brady, Kelley Toups.
St. Charles Parish teachers gathered at the Ormond Plantation Manor House to honor the best of the best when it comes to shaping the minds of the parish’s youth - read on to find out who they are, and why they’re tops.

Just so you’ll know the “rules of the road,” one teacher was chosen from each school to represent their peers as “the best instructor for the year.”

The winners from the elementary level included Darlin Brady-Caro of R. J. Vial Elementary, Karen Tyler of Schoeffner Elementary, Jennifer Carter of New Sarpy Elementary, Ann Batt of Songy Kindergarten Center, Mendy Van Hoven of Norco Elementary K-3, Kelley Toups of St. Rose Elementary, Kim Colley of Lakewood Elementary School, Tanya Galland of Luling Elementary, Michelle Naquin of Norco Elementary 4-6, Charlene Morgan of Allemands Elementary, Glynis Ragan of New Sarpy Kindergarten Center, and Holly Savoie of Mimosa Park Elementary.

Middle school winners included Tammy Windmann of Hurst Middle, Michelle Ruppert of J. B. Martin Middle, Elaine Fitzgerald of R.K. Smith Middle, and Shanette Barnes of Cammon Middle School.

Lorraine Faucheux of Hahnville High and Joey Brady of Destrehan High represented the winners on the high school level while three teachers were chosen overall as teachers of the year representing the elementary, middle, and high school levels:

Kelley Toups, Elementary School Teacher of the Year
Kelley, a teacher at St. Rose Elementary School, graduated from Southeastern Louisiana University with a Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education.  A nationally certified teacher, she is a member of the St. Charles Parish and Louisiana Reading Councils. Kelley is a LaTAAP mentor and assessor, a turn around trainer, a supervisor for student teachers, and school improvement team chairperson.

Michelle Ruppert, Middle School Teacher of the Year
Michelle, a teacher at J. B. Martin Middle School, graduated from Southeastern Louisiana University with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Elementary Education. She is a member of the Louisiana Association of Computer Using Teachers, the Association of Assessment Inspectors and Advisers, the National and Louisiana Associations of Educators, and the National and Louisiana Reading Associations.  Michelle, a LaTAAP mentor, was the 2006 District Wal-Mart Teacher of the Year and is a turn around trainer.

Joey Brady, High School Teacher of the Year
Joey, a teacher at Destrehan High School, graduated from Southeastern Louisiana University with a Bachelor of Science in Biology Education and has received graduate credits at Louisiana State University and Nicholls State University.  He is a member of the Louisiana and National Science Teachers Associations, the National Association of Biology Teachers, and the Louisiana Federation of Teachers. Joey, Captain of the Krewe of Allovus, has served as a student teacher cooperating teacher, the Science Department Chairperson, and sponsor for the DHS Literary Rally and the Honors Scholars Club.

You can meet all 18 of our Teachers of the Year by visiting on the Web or by tuning into Cox Cable channel 8 to view the Teachers of the Year Banquet.

View other articles written Special to the Herald-Guide

featured merchant

Acadian Flooring America
Acadian Flooring America is a family owned and operated floor covering store that has been proudly serving our customers since 1980. Our experienced staff at our Marrero, LA location is eager to serve you and help you transform your room and bring your dé

State asked to investigate Hahnville fire department
State asked to investigate Hahnville fire department

After months of bickering within the Hahnville Volunteer Fire Department (HVFD) and allegations of mismanaged funds, the fire service members have finally agreed on one thing – the organization should undergo a forensic legislative audit to determine if any money was misappropriated during the reign of former Fire Chief Reginald Gaubert.