Very Important Parishoners - Schools

Staff Report
February 28, 2007 at 1:42 pm  | Mobile Reader | Pring this storyPrint 

Hahnville High School’s Mendi Lebeouf was named District III Athletic Director of the Year. She will now compete for the title of State Athletic Director.

Hahnville High School student Caleb Lampert was chosen to participate in the 2007 All-South Honor Band.

Jarrard Sterling has been recognized as Louisiana’s football athlete of the year by International Sports Specialists.

Destrehan High School seniors Valicia C. Miller and Sharion T. Scott are finalists in the National Achievement Scholarship Program. Valicia is the daughter of Vera and Richard Miller of St. Rose, and Sharion is the daughter of Jacqueline and Gregory Scott of Montz.

R.J. Vial Elementary School science fair winners: Elementary Physical Science: Freddie Rosario III- Honorable Mention; Ashleigh Gaudet - 3rd; Ivan Stroup - 2nd; Cameron Guidry - 1st. Elementary Earth and Environmental Sciences: Morgan Dufrene - 2nd; Chase Donohue - 1st. Elementary Biological Sciences: Cedryana Robinson - 2nd; Mary Frances Candies - 1st. Elementary Chemical Sciences: Mark Brien - Honorable Mention; Ashley Hobby - Honorable Mention; Brandon Dufrene - 3rd; Andrew McLin - 2nd; Melanie Induni - 1st. Junior Team: Lorelle Comardelle and Maliry Budzinski - Honorable Mention; Brianna Lasserre and Amanda Matherne - 3rd; Carli Matherne and Lexi Petit - 2nd. Junior Medicine and Health: Alyssa Taravella - 2nd; Brandon Speice - 1st; Junior Earth/ Space: Rynisha Nedd - Honorable Mention; Blake Lorio - 3rd; Kailen Dufrene - 1st. Junior Chemistry: Taylor Aucoin - Honorable Mention; Michael McCullough - Honorable Mention; Kara Chaisson - 3rd; Christin Hebert - 1st. Junior Microbiology: Darren Bergeron - 1st. Junior Mathematics: Stephon Boudoin - 3rd. Junior Engineering: Ethan Mayeux - 2nd; Junior Physics: Ernest Gardner - Honorable Mention; Kasen Mendoza - 3rd; Aliyah Robinson - 2nd; Zachary Reyna - 1st. Junior Behavioral: Brair Falgoust - 1st.

Mimosa Park Elementary science fair winners: Environmental Science: 1st Patrick Phelan, 2nd Breanne Cazenave, 3rd Jordan Brown. Honorable Mention: Joshua Pertuit and Claudia Dufrene. Chemical Science: 1st Chandler Freman, 2nd Dustin Roussel, 3rd Tori Gomez, Honorable Mention: Vincent Tamplain and Kierra Sorappuru. Physical Science: 1st Richard Oubre, 2nd James Borne, 3rd Ru’Yana Bossier, Honorable Mention: Madison Fremen, Taylor Norfleet, Brianna Thomas, Alexis Diggs and Elizabeth Keran. Biological Science: 1st Connor Hebert, 2nd Joshua Cheramie, 3rd Madison Canterbury, Honorable Mention: Sarah Wilson, Lydia Beebe, Madison Cancienne and Richard Ecuyer. The overall winner is Connor Hebert.

Mimosa Park Elementary Young Author’s Contest district winners: 1st Grade: Poetry - Ty Coffey Fiction - Colin Oubre, Non-Fiction - Jay Madden. 2nd Grade: Poetry - Hannah Knowles, David Gordon Fiction - Eli Palmer, Darius Dimes. 3rd Grade: Poetry - Meg Mathis, Fiction - Madison Fremen.

Rae Juan Marbley and Dominique Young are the first band students from St. Rose Elementary to ever earn spots in the St. Charles Parish Elementary Honor Band.

St. Rose Elementary students Asia Hill, Ajazea Miller, Ra’Shai Sherman, Travanti Jolivette and Spencer Lee recently won first place in the district’s Young Author’s Contest.

View other articles written Staff Report

featured merchant

BENT'S RV Bent's RV is a Full Service RV Dealership in Louisiana.

Destrehan Plantation fest making comeback this weekend
Destrehan Plantation fest making comeback this weekend
With an additional 8 acres of parking available for this weekend's anticipated 15,000 visitors, the Destrehan Plantation's Fall Festival is back with some new additions.

Become A Herald-Guide Insider

Get breaking news, sports and lifestyles straight to your inbox